You’re on Their LIST!

my-green-crop.jpg

One of the blog styles I like to read I call digest blogs. These are compilations by the blog owner of mostly work posted elsewhere by other people. They often include some input by the blog owner concerning the issues raised in each post. These are my faves. As always they are listed here in alphabetical order:

Dissident
A masterful compilation of excellent found works from all over the net.

Left-handed Complement
Mudge gives us his take on any number of posts from around the net. His posts are made up by about half found works and half his always insightful take on the issues raised.

Little Brother Forum
This blog give us the often hidden gems of truth from the MSM. It must take HOURS per day to find these found works. After all, the MSM is not well known for TRUTH!

Monte Asbury’s blog
Monte regularly quotes “the best selling book of all time,” the bible. That said, this blog is mostly Monte’s very positive applications of his learning and teaching from the “good book.” After what we have been through over the last few years concerning the negative effects of religion, Monte’s writings concerning positive change via his religion should be a beacon to us all.

oldphartintraining
Opit takes the found works format to a high art form. His posts are a must read if ya wanna know what is getting posted in the ‘sphere!

One World News
This blog is mostly articles from the larger media outlets like the NYT and Slate.

Our Descent Into Madness
This one is really mostly written “in house” but is so full of out going links, I consider it a strong digest too. Easily one of the hippest blogs around.

Peace Action Blog
Another hip, mostly mostly written in house blog that links to found works. This one is dedicated to peace…

ReligionAndAtheism
Gives us an excellent selection of found works on it’s title subject.

thing4yourself
This blog uses found works, as well as written in house work to inspire us to resist the power elite and be free…

I hope you’ll check these blogs out.

The telepathic crickets are all excited because tomorrow is the last Saturday of the month, so that means it’s time for another edition of ClapSo’s Video Funhouse! We hope you’ll tune in for this weekend special edition!

The scientifically impossible I do right away

The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

clpspinglobe.gif

~ by ClapSo on August 24, 2007.

7 Responses to “You’re on Their LIST!”

  1. I’ve always been a little turned off by blogs that do little more than reprint other articles. I’ve always found it pretty lazy. I could see links to other articles and stuff, but the reason I read blogs is to find original, interesting material, not just big blocks of someone else’s work. But, different strokes, I guess.

  2. Brad,
    I am a generalist; this means I know a (very) little about a lot of things. And I’ve no doubt got an opinion that works for all things I don’t know about.

    The subject I am an expert in is only a small part of what interests me about life.

    So, for the most part, I find a story that intrigues me, I excerpt it (a clipjoint as it were) and riff on it. And a(n elite) few of ClapSo’s wonderfully named crickets respond.

    The topic I do share my expertise on also occupies space in Left-Handed Complement, but it’s so specialized that those seem to be the posts that the crickets can’t get away from fast enough. And besides, it’s my expertise, but only a fraction of what is important to me.

    Do I protest too much, Brad? When I retire at age 90, I’ll have all the time I need to create fresh, insightful posts. ‘Til then, it’s clipjoints.

    ClapSo, thanks for the shout out. It’s mutual, guy.

    –MUDGE

  3. Well, I knew it would happen eventually. Two of my favorite daily reads rubbed each other a bit wrong. I think brad has a point that some, and none of them are are my blogroll, do run “cut and paste” blogs. All of us however, do use links pictures and quotes of other peoples work. Some use more then others. I hope Brad and Mudge will check out each others blogs, you are both daily reads for me and I think you will find each others blog interesting.

    I love the posts you do about net conferencing Mudge, I think that’s what you mean by what you’re an expert in. I would suggest you read and comment on other blogs that that have that as their subject. This will bring you more readers who are as expert as you. With those of us who also enjoy your take on politics and our world you will continue to have the growing readership you deserve.

    Anyway, sorry that this post caused bad feelings and I hope you both realize that this is nothing more then a misunderstanding. You are both great writers that should not be pissed at each other.

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  4. Clapso:
    Thanks for again providing some great reads. I am familiar with Dissident but the others are new.

    I am not put off by that style of blog. It allows for a quick view of what’s around. WIth all the blog in the sphere one can not find them alone. It is convient to have the blog listed above doing the heavy lifting.

    I don’t find their style lazy. They actually have to read many blogs and do a lot of surfing to keep their readers interested.

    BTW: I will be visiting more now that I have my blog running without any headaches. At least for today.

  5. […] this in a comment over at Monte Asbury’s Blog (a new regular read, courtesy of A View from the Bridge at ClapSotronics): all of our accumulated $trillions of military spending did not protect us from 19 guys with […]

  6. Nytexan, thanks for stopping by as I know you are busy with the new site and all. It’s always a pleasure to see your name on a comment and good luck with the new site!

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  7. […] You’re on their list  Bloghopping is addictive – BlogHop […]

Leave a Reply

 
