All the Ships at Sea…

There comes time in a fathers life. When one of our children has grown to an adult. When said adult child has special events in their lives that we MUST acknowledge. Such an event has occurred in my oldest son Luke’s life. It is a bittersweet occasion for me since I am a veteran of one thousand peace marches. My oldest son is an officer in the US Navy. This is a hard thing for me…

That all said, Luke’s first ship and it’s company need be thanked by me:

To the captain, officers, sailors and marines stationed aboard the USS Rushmore, the Telepathic Crickets and I give a 21 Cricket chirp salute. Thank you all for all you’ve done, and contiue to do, for my son and each other. I will always have a warm spot in my heart for your stout ship and all who serve on her…

Luke is now a second lieutenant. He is moving on to the big “flat top” the USS Harry S. Truman. To my son I give my heartfelt congratulations. Knowing him as I do, he should be an admiral by next Tuesday 😉

Godspeed to all the ships at sea. May you all be in safe harbor and at peace by Christmas, or sooner…

The scientifically impossible I do right away

The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

~ by ClapSo on April 16, 2008.

2 Responses to “All the Ships at Sea…”

  1. Very nice…

  2. Be safe, Clapso’s son Luke and comrades.

Leave a Reply

 
